Louder Than Bombs

Louder Than Bombs Movie

An upcoming exhibition celebrating photographer Isabelle Reed three years after her untimely death, brings her eldest son Jonah back to the family house – forcing him to spend more time with his father Gene and withdrawn younger brother Conrad than he has in years. With the three of them under the same roof, Gene tries desperately to connect with his two sons, but they struggle to reconcile their feelings about the woman they remember so differently.

Louder Than Bombs is an internationally co-produced drama film directed by Joachim Trier, and co-written with Eskil Vogt. The film stars Jesse Eisenberg, Gabriel Byrne, Isabelle Huppert, David Strathairn, and Amy Ryan. It was selected to compete for the Palme d’Or at the 2015 Cannes Film Festival. It has also been selected to be shown in the Special Presentations section of the 2015 Toronto International Film Festival.

On May 9, 2013, Jesse Eisenberg, Gabriel Byrne and Isabelle Huppert joined the film, which Joachim Trier was set to direct for his English-language debut. On August 29, the film was postponed indefinitely due to financial problems. On February 5, 2014, Arte France Cinema was on board to finance the film. On September 4, David Strathairn, and Amy Ryan joined the cast of the film.[6] On September 9, Rachel Brosnahan joined the film to play Eisenberg’s character’s ex-girlfriend.

On August 21, 2014, it was reported that the crews started the preparations for the shooting of the film on Northern Boulevard in Bayside, New York.The eight-week of filming began on September 4, 2014, in New York City.

Louder Than Bombs Movie Poster

Louder Than Bombs

Directed by: Joachim Trier
Starring: Jesse Eisenberg, Amy Ryan, Rachel Brosnahan, Ruby Jerins, David Strathairn, Isabelle Huppert, Bridget McGarry, Megan Ketch, Venus Schultheis
Screenplay by: Joachim Trier, Eskil Vogt
Production Design by: Molly Hughes
Cinematography by: Jakob Ihre
Film Editing by: Olivier Bugge Coutté
Costume Design by: Emma Potter
Set Decoration by: Michelle Schluter-Ford
Music by: Ola Fløttum
MPAA Rating: R for language, some sexual content, nudity and violent images.
Studio: The Orchard
Release Date: April 8, 2016