Smurfs: The Lost Village (2017)

Smurfs: The Lost Village

Taglines: A whole new world awaits.

In this fully animated, all-new take on the Smurfs, a mysterious map sets Smurfette and her best friends Brainy, Clumsy and Hefty on an exciting and thrilling race through the Forbidden Forest filled with magical creatures to find a mysterious lost village before the evil wizard Gargamel does. Embarking on a roller-coaster journey full of action and danger, the Smurfs are on a course that leads to the discovery of the biggest secret in Smurf history.

Smurfs: The Lost Village is a 2017 American 3D computer-animated fantasy adventure comedy film produced by Sony Pictures Animation and The Kerner Entertainment Company for Columbia Pictures. Sony, LStar Capital and Wanda Pictures co-financed the film. It is based on The Smurfs comic book series created by Belgian comics artist Peyo and is a reboot of Sony’s previous live-action/animated films. It was written by Stacey Harman and Pamela Ribon and directed by Kelly Asbury, and stars the voices of Demi Lovato, Rainn Wilson, Joe Manganiello, Mandy Patinkin, Jack McBrayer, Danny Pudi, Michelle Rodriguez, Ellie Kemper, Ariel Winter, Meghan Trainor, Jake Johnson and Julia Roberts. In the film, a mysterious map prompts Smurfette, Brainy, Clumsy and Hefty to find a lost village before Gargamel does.

Smurfs: The Lost Village grossed $45 million in the United States and Canada and $152.2 million in other territories for a worldwide gross of $197.2 million, against a production budget of $60 million. In North America, the film opened alongside Going in Style and The Case for Christ and was projected to gross around $16–20 million in the opening weekend from 3,602 theaters. It ended up opening to $13.2 million, marking the lowest debut of the Smurfs franchise and finishing 3rd at the box office.

Smurfs: The Lost Village Movie Poster

Smurfs: The Lost Village (2017)

Directed by: Kelly Asbury
Starring: Joe Manganiello, Rainn Wilson, Mandy Patinkin, Demi Lovato, Danny Pudi, Jack McBrayer, Ellie Kemper, Michelle Rodriguez, Julia Roberts, Ariel Winter, Meghan Trainor
Screenplay by: Stacey Harman, Pamela Ribon
Production Design by: Noelle Triaureau
Film Editing by: Bret Marnell
Art Direction by: Dean Gordon, Marcelo Vignali
Music by: Christopher Lennertz
MPAA Rating: PG for some mild action and rude humor.
Distributed by: Columbia Pictures
Release Date: April 7, 2017